Accomplished Litigators Fighting For You

Common Questions About Insurance and Car Accidents In Florida

At GC Law, one of our primary purposes is to provide answers. Below are some frequently asked questions about car accidents and car insurance in our state. To discuss your own concerns with a knowledgeable attorney, contact our law office in Fort Pierce.

What is the minimum amount of insurance that drivers in Florida are required to have?

Drivers of vehicles with four or more wheels must have both Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL). The minimum required coverage for PIP is $10,000 per person, up to 80% of their medical expenses. PDL should cover a minimum of $10,000 for damage to someone else’s car or other property when the policyholder was at fault.

Who pays for injuries and property damage after an accident?

Each person’s car insurance (or insurance for the car they’re riding in) should pay for their own injuries. This is what is meant by “no-fault” insurance in Florida. PDL should pay for property damage incurred by someone else when the policyholder was at fault.

What happens when an at-fault driver does not have enough insurance to pay for the cost of someone else’s injuries?

If the injured person has uninsured/underinsured motorist (UI/UIM) coverage, they may file a claim against their own insurance. Otherwise, a lawsuit may be brought against that driver, but often, such drivers have few assets. It is always a best practice to carry UI/UIM coverage.

Why do insurance companies sometimes deny legitimate claims?

Insurers may deny claims for one or more reasons such as the following:

  • There is not enough evidence to prove who was at fault or other aspects of the claim.
  • There is a lack of supporting documentation, such as photographs, police reports and eyewitness testimony.
  • The insurer may insist that someone’s alleged injuries were, in fact, preexisting conditions.
  • The insurer may deny a claim for technical reasons, such as missing or late premium payments and a lack of correct identifying information.

By working with an experienced attorney, you may avoid or overcome such roadblocks.

What should I tell my insurance company after I have been in an accident?

Do give them the basic facts: where an accident happened, what time and who was involved.

Do not talk to them about who was at fault or details about your injuries.

For your own protection, allow your auto accident attorney to handle most communications with an insurer.

Will I need to pay legal fees to speak with an attorney at your law firm?

We accept most personal injury cases on a contingency basis, which means the only fees we collect are a percentage of the recovery we secure for you. No recovery, no fee – and there are never surprise or upfront costs. In case we need to collect fees, we will make sure you understand and agree to all financial details in advance.

Bring Us Your Questions After An Accident

To learn more and schedule a free initial consultation, please call our Fort Pierce office at 772-710-4243 or send us an email.

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this website should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. The content is not intended to create, and the receipt or viewing does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. No content on this website may be reused in any fashion without written permission from GC Law.